Strange, Possibly Suspect List of Books

I have a confession to make. I’m not nearly as well read as you think I am. Or, at least, I hope you think I am. (Sorry, did that make any sense at all?) Anywhoo, I’m definitely a writer and a reader, a language person, a lover of literature of varying sorts. My B.A.’s in Creative Writing/English, and I’ve written (and read) poetry since I was a kid. But for about twelve years now, I’ve had issues getting through novels, one mundane consequence of the symptoms of PTSD (trouble focusing and sustaining concentration, in particular). I’m determined to get back in the game, though, now that I’m in graduate school and have proved to myself over and over this semester that I can do it–I’m fully capable again. I’ve kind of surprised myself, actually, and am super-pleased and excited about the prospects of catching up on some good fiction that I’ve missed.

Something else that helped is my discovery of audio books. For whatever reason, this makes it much easier for me to finish novels, so I’ve downloaded a few from the library and had a trial membership to Audible.com, which is awesome, by the way. I may restart my membership there sometime, although as a library person, I of course prefer to get my stuff for free a la bibliotheque.

So what does this have to do with anything. and where is that odd list I mentioned? It has to do with the fact that there are plenty of books I should’ve read by now and haven’t and so am making a checklist that I can go through. It has to do with the fact that I’ll probably “read” many of these books in audio format, just fyi. And it has to do with the fact that I find some of the “Have You Read This” lists on Facebook to be uninspiring and just plain dubious sometimes. (The DaVinci Code right next to One Hundred Years of Solitude, really??) Not that I don’t read or support popular fiction; I do. But I wanna make my own list that others can find dubious and uninspiring.

So here goes, in no particular order (except the first two, which will be the first two)…to be updated frequently.

  • I will finish *Deathly Hallows and take another run through the *Harry Potter series
  • *Sara Gruen–Water for Elephants
  • *Edith Wharton–The House of Mirth, The Age of Innocence
  • J.R.R. Tolkien–The Hobbit and *The Lord of the Rings series
  • *Marion Zimmer Bradley–The Mists of Avalon
  • *Willa Cather–O Pioneers!, The Song of the Lark, My Antonia
  • *Pearl S. Buck–The Good Earth
  • *Chinua Achebe–Things Fall Apart (again)
  • *Margaret Mitchell–Gone with the Wind
  • *Anne Bronte–Agnes Grey, The Tennant of Wildfell Hall
  • *Charlotte Bronte–Jane Eyre
  • *Emily Bronte–Wuthering Heights
  • Lady Murasaki–The Tale of Genji
  • Ellen Glasgow–undetermined…suggestions?
  • *Philip Pullman–His Dark Materials series
  • *Katherine Anne Porter–The Collected Stories
  • Eudora Welty–The Collected Stories
  • *Audrey Niffenegger–The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • Alice Walker–*The Color Purple, The Complete Stories
  • Raymond Carver–Collected Stories
  • *George Eliot–Romola, Middlemarch, Daniel Deronda
  • *Jane Smiley–A Thousand Acres
  • *Khaled Hosseini–Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns
  • E. Annie Proulx–The Shipping News (read most of it but never finished)
  • *L.M. Montgomery–Anne of Green Gables series
  • Grace Paley–The Collected Stories
  • *Michael Cunningham–The Hours
  • *Donna Tartt–The Secret History
  • *Barbara Kingsolver–The Poisonwood Bible; Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (not fiction but whatev)
  • *Jhumpa Lahiri–The Namesake, Interpreter of Maladies
  • *Alice Sebold–The Lovely Bones
  • *Jeffrey Eugenides–Middlesex, The Virgin Suicides
  • *Elizabeth Strout–Olive Kitteredge
  • Alice Hoffman–*The River King, Blackbird House, *The Ice Queen, Practical Magic (never finished!)
  • Sylvia Plath–The Bell Jar
  • *Robert Jordan–The Eye of the World
  • *Ursula K. Le Guin–A Wizard of Earthsea, Lavinia
  • *AS Byatt–Possession
  • *Sir Arthur Conan Doyle–The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
  • Feng Jicai–The Three Inch Golden Lotus (again because it was amazing)
  • Philippa Gregory–The Tudor series, The Cousins’ War series
  • Susan Cooper–The Dark is Rising series

Like I said I’ll be adding to this and checking things off, and I hope to eventually sort through and star each one available in audio. Feel free to send me what your favorite books are, and I’ll consider adding those as well.

One thought on “Strange, Possibly Suspect List of Books

Leave a Reply

